Net-Moto :: Community :: Racing :: Thefts :: Racing Videos Sponsor :: Contact
 Forums   Features   Trackdays   Moto Crash Incidents   Race Team   CMSP Training   Sponsors   BARF Store   Donate   Terms of Service 
BARF - Bay Area Riders Forum  Home   UserCP   Register   Calendar   Members   FAQ   Search  AMA

Go Back   BARF - Bay Area Riders Forum > Moto > Riding Skills

Old 05-30-2018, 11:05 PM   #1
MotorcycleMan

Motorcycles: Yamaha FZ09 / FJ09
Name:
Friendly backroad cornerning advice

Ive been riding for a few years, 99% on backroads (other 1% getting to the "good roads") and there are a few things I have picked up I'd like to share.
If you have anything helpful to add feel free to comment and hopefully we can help some people out.

Always be aware. Know what your line should look like. Where your apex should be. Not for speed; you should be thinking to yourself where is the safest place for you to be at your apex. Is oncoming traffic visible? Does oncoming traffic have a blind turn? You don't want to hug that yellow line too much, you never know when a car will stray even a few feet into our lane.

Ride within your own personal limit and always leave some room for error as we never know what is around the corner. Crashed cars, deer running across the road, a massive buffalo, a driver making a U-turn in the middle of a blind turn, the list is endless.

Ride safe my friends and always wear your gear.
MotorcycleMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 04:49 AM   #2
motomania2007
MSF/MTC CMSP Instructor

Motorcycles: BMW R1200R, FZ09, FZR400, CR250R
Name: George
All good suggestions!

Please come to one of my MSF, Total Control or CMSP classes and allow me to share my addiction with you.
Total Control MTC, IRC and ARC instructor

http://www.valleymotorcycletraining.com/signup.html

The best performance upgrade is upgrading the operating system of the operator. It is cheap, easy, fast, safe and works on every bike you will ever ride.