BARF - Bay Area Riders Forum

Go Back   BARF - Bay Area Riders Forum > Moto > The Garage


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2021, 09:49 AM   #16
CAcowgirl
Veteran
 
CAcowgirl's Avatar
 
Founding Member

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sacramento
Motorcycles: 2007 GSX-R750
Name:
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjj View Post
Sounds like you need one of these
Outstanding!!! I may just have to buy that shirt.
__________________
Secret to women: Treat your woman like a thoroughbred and she won't be a nag.
CAcowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 09:50 AM   #17
CAcowgirl
Veteran
 
CAcowgirl's Avatar
 
Founding Member

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sacramento
Motorcycles: 2007 GSX-R750
Name:
is a bit overkill. But, I've not posted on barf in ages. And I have missed a lot of the emojis. ESPECIALLY this one...
I'm sure you guys can imagine. LOL!
__________________
Secret to women: Treat your woman like a thoroughbred and she won't be a nag.
CAcowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2021, 06:36 PM   #18
CAcowgirl
Veteran
 
CAcowgirl's Avatar
 
Founding Member

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sacramento
Motorcycles: 2007 GSX-R750
Name:
It threw the error code today on my way home from a ride! (unsure which FI code) But it didn't display again when I fired it back up at home. Grr!
__________________
Secret to women: Treat your woman like a thoroughbred and she won't be a nag.
CAcowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2021, 06:25 AM   #19
peterhively
Veteran
 
peterhively's Avatar
 
AMA #349887
Contributor ++

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: on the road again
Motorcycles: *
Name:
Yes if the FI light comes on, you want to be able to put the bike in dealer mode before switching it off. Keep your paper clip/jumper wire/dealer mode switch handy so if the light comes on you can check the code right away.
peterhively is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2021, 06:41 AM   #20
peterhively
Veteran
 
peterhively's Avatar
 
AMA #349887
Contributor ++

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: on the road again
Motorcycles: *
Name:
Easiest way is to buy the switch, connect it to the diag port, and run it out from under the seat where you can flip the switch anytime you want. I zip tied mine to the left passenger peg bracket on my Bandit 1250 when it was throwing intermittent codes. I could just pull over and flip the switch without shutting off the bike.

I found cheaper prices offered, but this place claims to have it in stock and with prime you could have it tomorrow.

https://www.amazon.com/SUZUKI-DEALER.../dp/B07N13ZJNG
peterhively is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2021, 06:55 AM   #21
CAcowgirl
Veteran
 
CAcowgirl's Avatar
 
Founding Member

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sacramento
Motorcycles: 2007 GSX-R750
Name:
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhively View Post
Easiest way is to buy the switch, connect it to the diag port, and run it out from under the seat where you can flip the switch anytime you want. I zip tied mine to the left passenger peg bracket on my Bandit 1250 when it was throwing intermittent codes. I could just pull over and flip the switch without shutting off the bike.

I found cheaper prices offered, but this place claims to have it in stock and with prime you could have it tomorrow.

https://www.amazon.com/SUZUKI-DEALER.../dp/B07N13ZJNG
Thank you 😊
__________________
Secret to women: Treat your woman like a thoroughbred and she won't be a nag.
CAcowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2021, 08:57 PM   #22
Lucytriple
Wrrrench
 
Lucytriple's Avatar
 
AMA #5057309
Contributor + + + + +

Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: SF
Motorcycles: SV1000, Braap
Name: Lucy
If you can't be bothered to buy a switch, just connect the black/white wire to the red/white wire with a paper clip or jumper cable and you can leave it in diagnostic mode while
you ride. You'll see C21 or whatever and then you can look up the code. Don't let the paper clip short on anything
__________________
Chronic fixer. Message me if you'd like me to fix something of yours
Lucytriple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2021, 09:07 PM   #23
CAcowgirl
Veteran
 
CAcowgirl's Avatar
 
Founding Member

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sacramento
Motorcycles: 2007 GSX-R750
Name:
Thank you for sharing. That solution has come up and shared. I'm not willing to go that route because of the potential risk of damaging the electrical system. It's only a $20 tool. And apparently, just like me, the fucking bike is aging. And more shit will quit. So I may as well buy the damn plug.

Sorry. Shit mood because people suck. Time to go back under my rock
__________________
Secret to women: Treat your woman like a thoroughbred and she won't be a nag.
CAcowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2021, 09:10 PM   #24
elskipador
elskipador@gmail.com
 
elskipador's Avatar
 
Mod Alumni
Contributor

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: gilroy
Motorcycles: the trickest f2 you've ever seen.
Name: shawn
pull ecu pin c31 or c34 & you'll be good. or just buy a servo removal diode. side note..... do the folks working on your bike not know how to use google
?
__________________
AUTOBOTS MC 415 Ministry of Love Dunlop tire ninja
Track tires bikebandit honda kawasaki partsfish yamaha
where to get inked up worked here for 14 years the cheat is the sheet
where i got my degrees rules of barf new fuel



want me to fix your ride?
lizzie banet bryan "ol' man" paquette herb bogart

Last edited by elskipador; 07-19-2021 at 09:15 PM..
elskipador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2021, 09:14 PM   #25
elskipador
elskipador@gmail.com
 
elskipador's Avatar
 
Mod Alumni
Contributor

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: gilroy
Motorcycles: the trickest f2 you've ever seen.
Name: shawn
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhively View Post
Easiest way is to buy the switch, connect it to the diag port, and run it out from under the seat where you can flip the switch anytime you want. I zip tied mine to the left passenger peg bracket on my Bandit 1250 when it was throwing intermittent codes. I could just pull over and flip the switch without shutting off the bike.

I found cheaper prices offered, but this place claims to have it in stock and with prime you could have it tomorrow.

https://www.amazon.com/SUZUKI-DEALER.../dp/B07N13ZJNG
i have one of those it lives in my old timey yoshi tuning box, the one with the reostat knobs. honda makes a similar plug.
__________________
AUTOBOTS MC 415 Ministry of Love Dunlop tire ninja
Track tires bikebandit honda kawasaki partsfish yamaha
where to get inked up worked here for 14 years the cheat is the sheet
where i got my degrees rules of barf new fuel



want me to fix your ride?
lizzie banet bryan "ol' man" paquette herb bogart
elskipador is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.